off to Bouchercon

We’re leaving in a few hours for San Francisco, and Bouchercon By The Bay, the 2010 version of the long time (since 1970, this is the 40th) world fan mystery convention named after super reader-reviewer-fan Anthony Boucher, pseudonym of William Anthony Parker White. It’s a festival of mystery, authors, fans, books and panels and we’re looking forward to seeing friends from DAPA-Em, the mystery apa we’re in, and others from across the country who will be there (and be sorry not to see many others who aren’t attending this year).

The convention is at the Hyatt Regency so we’ll be near the Embarcadero, and other shopping venues, as well as having access to San Francisco attractions such as Coit Tower, Ghiradelli Square, museums, the Ferry Building, parks and many more.

I usually plow through lots of panels and spend time in the book room and just hanging out at these things, but Wife may well make an effort to preserve her sanity by getting out and enjoying the pleasures San Francisco has to offer.

I probably won’t have time for updates from the City by the Bay, so I’ll see you all here on Monday. Take care of yourselves and each other.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Adventure, Personal Opinion, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to off to Bouchercon

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    Hope you get to meet Megan. She’s in some play that might be fun although her panel is on graphic novels. Have fun for me. I am so jealous.

  2. Scott Cupp says:

    Like Patti, I am not going and am jealous. Have fun enough for us all.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Have fun. Don’t forget to pick up some chocolate at Ghirardelli’s.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Wish I was making that journey this year.

  5. Carl V. says:

    Hope you have a great time, sounds like fun. I couldn’t help but go back and check out my early January review of a sci fi anthology edited by Boucher. There are some stories in there that I would really like to re-read at some point.

    And hey! You need to stay out of the book room! You are moving, remember?!?! :)

  6. Richard says:

    We’re here! Smooth flight, great room, great view, beautiful, weather! Early registration in a few minutes, then food and exploration. Yay!

  7. I hope you’re keeping a log of all of your BOUCHERCON adventures, Rick. Those of us who can’t make it to BOUCHERCON want plenty of details!

  8. Richard says:

    Yeh, well, I seem to have forgot to bring my webmailloging info with me, and my bulhorn login as well, so I’m dead in the water except for comments here…

    Had drinks with Cirders and thier daughter last night, also breakfast, as we’re both in the Regency floors, went to a couple panels, looked into the book room but saw nothing of interest, had lunch at the Port Building and did a little shopping, am here again for snacks before opening ceremonies tonight.

  9. Richard says:

    I see no one is following along here,or at least not commenting, but that’s okay. Update at Non Friday – Sweetness at Bottom of Pie double winner last night in Macavity & Barry awards. We were tired, and I was having some dental probs, so we missed the DAPA gathering in Crider’s room. Maybe tonight….

    During breakfast this morning Louise Penny walked by, stopped for a chat, I even got a hug! Yow! She will sign the new book later today or tomorrow morning.

    Finally met Megan Abbott, after her panel on graphic novels, and had her sign a copy of BURY ME DEAD though I aleady had a copy, packed at home. Very sweet, seems to smile all the time, looks about 12 years old. My goodness, what a delightful girl she is. She said she was going to email her mom right after the signing.

    Caught a migraine during that panel, had to miss Crider’s panel and came to R. Club just for a quick internet comment and some juice. Horrible timing!

    We’re having a ball, (except for this blasted tooth & headache thing) and the weather couldn’t be better. More later.

  10. Sorry to hear about your tooth and headache problems, Rick. I’m fighting my own battle against some coughing-sneezing-and-wheezing bug that’s colonized my body. Megan is as sweet as her Mom.

  11. Carl V. says:

    Hooray for Sweetness. Love that book. Hope you start feeling better soon.

    Megan Abbott looks like she would be sweet. And I love her book covers, I need to snag her books just for those covers!

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:
  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    what happened to my comment?

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff – don’t know, haven’t been here sine mid-day yesterday.

    George – sorry to hear you’re under the weather. Me too, I can’t fidure out what’s going on, but I haven’t been eating much or well, and have been light-headed. Still, grinding through a few panels. Got Louise Penny’s new one nd had her sign it, Wife did same with John Connelly’s newest. We have bought about a half dozen books. Not bad, considering.

    Have seen these past and present DAPAns – Scott, Stillwell, Crider, Napier (only from afar), Steinbock (he looked right through me…), Diere, Rudolf. I hear the Smiths and Ted Fitz are ere, but have not seen them. Also had a nice chat with George Easter, Chris Aldrich and others. Between times I’ve been crashed while Wife soldiers on, to panels, signings, and the social whirl. We fly back late tomorrow afternoon, to the chaos of the half-packed house. I’ll be sorry to leave, it’s nice here, but we need to be home, Wife for work, me for packing. ** sigh **

  15. I’m hoping to “turn the corner” tomorrow, Rick. I’m taking my medications and at least I’m not getting any worse. Too bad you couldn’t enjoy the full BOUCHERCON experience. And, the prospect of returning home to more packing is enough to make anyone ill.

  16. Richard says:

    Glad you’re feeling better, George, so am I. We had a nice evening last night, nothing fancy but saw a few people and hd a nice dinner. Slept well.

    Jeff – if your comment had two or more links in it, it is sitting there awaiting my moderation… it’s a setting I have to help avoid spammers. So that may be where your missing comment is.

    I will try to do a New Arrivals post tomorrow – but not tonight. Look for John Connelly, Louise Penny, Val McDermid and a few others, plus the book bag stuff, some of which will go directly to Book Swap.

    We’re checking at at Noon, and flying out at 3-something… so this will be my last update. There are both Giants and 49ers games today, the traffic between here and the airport, going past both stadiums, will be…interesting. Tomorrow: pack, pack, pack!

Leave a Reply

