New Arrivals September 27 – October 3

Again, a two book week, one old, one new, both recommendations from blogs I read, the Secret Service Smith book from Randy Johnson’s blog. Here they are, with – as always – the covers first and the descriptions below. The second book, the Secret Service Smith stories, doesn’t have a dust jacket, so I’ve shown the front cover, title page and spine.

* * Click on an image to see it larger * *

The Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors by James D. Hornfischer [Bantam Books 2005 trade paperback, new] – nonfiction, World War II – though I recnetly heard of it, apparently this was a best seller, Book of the Month Club selection, winner of the Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Naval Literature. The blurb information says, in part, “this book follows in the footsteps of Flags of Our Fathers, creating a microcosm of the war’s Navy destroyers. Reads like an action novel.”

Mammoth Secret Service Smith Stories by R.T.M. Scott [A.L. Burt & Co., contents (c) 1925, 1926, 1923, no date for omnibus edition, hardcover, used] – spy / adventure, 3 novels (over 800 pages!) – comes highly recommended. I’ve not read anything by Scott, I’m looking forward to doing so.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals September 27 – October 3

  1. I see the R.T.M. Scott arrived. Blue cover, huh. Mine was the red of the picture you found. I have another Secret Service book in my new arrivals. Will have that one up in the morning.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    That SS Smith book looks pretty hefty. How many pages?

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I was just going to ask, any new arrivals? I don’t think I had any.

  4. Richard says:

    Randy – yes, blue, I guess they did two or three colors to vary the set.

    Evan – the page count is 296. It’s about an inch shorter (less tall) than the current usual size of a hardcover book.

    Jeff – I shouldn’t be getting things either! We’re packing books and new ones are still rolling in. It’s a disease…

  5. Actually, the page count is 800+. Each novel has it’s own numbering.

  6. Richard says:

    Randy – Yikes! You’re right, I just looked at the last page. I thought it wasn’t high enough, but had barely had my first sip of joe and wasn’t thinking clearly. My only excuse. Thanks, Randy. Did oyu notice I added a link to your blog in the post?

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I take it back. I just got a British paperback edition (Arrow, 1982) of Charlie Muffin’s Uncle Sam by Brian Freemantle.

  8. Richard says:

    Ah, but that should go on NEXT week’s list.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Actually, just wanted to mention that I’m in the middle of a previous arrival that I bought on your recommendation, QUARTER SHARE (Nathan Lowell) and I’m enjoying it so much I’m already looking forward to book two.

    Great choice!

  10. Richard says:

    Thanks, you’re the 4th or 5th person who has bought the book based on that review, and everyone seems to like the book. In August the publicist for Riordan Press told me she is anticipating an October release. I have no further word on that but will check, since I too am eager for the next installment.

    For e-book and podcast readers/listener, the whole series is already available in those formats.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Apparently he’s working on the next book but said he has to finish editing the print version of HALF SHARE as it is supposed to be out in October.

  12. I’m going to guess your Monday Mailbox will be empty as the moving date approaches. Or, are you sending your purchases ahead to Portland?

Leave a Reply

