Mailbox Monday: week of May 30-June 5, 2010

New arrivals – Week of May 30 – June 5, 2010

More pulp fiction reprints from Black Dog Books! I really, really love what Black Dog is doing with these reprints. I have a good percentage of their catalog now, and I’m not done yet. I highly recommend you visit the website for a gander at the many interesting offerings, plus coming attractions.

This week these arrived:

* *   click on a cover to see it full size   * *

* *   click on a cover to see it full size   * *

Dead Men Tell Tales by Arthur B. Reeve [published by Black Dog Books, 2008, trade paperback, new copy] – mystery / crime solving – 7 short stories published in 1923 and 1924. Craig Kennedy was introduced to the public when he solved “The Case of Helen Bond” in the December 1910 issue of Cosmopolitan magazine. Using science to solve baffling crimes, Kennedy, aided by his sidekick, Jameson, came to be known as the “the Scientific Detective” Throughout the 1920s and ’30s, Craig Kennedy stories appeared in many magazines, including Flynn’s, Argosy, Dime Detective, Popular Detective, Complete Detective Novel Magazine, Everybody’s, Boys’ Life, and even Country Gentleman. With his growing popularity, it is no surprise that Kennedy moved beyond the printed word. The character inspired six feature films, a movie chapter serial, a television series and a successful radio drama.

The Spotted Panther by James Francis Dwyer [published by Black Dog Books, 2008, trade paperback, new copy] – adventure, lost treasure. From the 1913 comes this  forgotten tale of adventure. Three men journey into the heart of Borneo, fighting both natives and the jungle itself, to find the Great Parong of Buddha and other fabled treasures missing for more than two centuries!

“We sat conversing late that evening. The story that Gung had told us was rioting madly in our brains. The Chalice of Everlasting Fire was always before our minds. We questioned the Hindu concerning the great sword with the emerald handle that was called the Parong of Buddha. There were a thousand legends told concerning that sword. We prayed Gung’s information would take us back to the place where Courtney and he had purloined the chalice from the cave that was close to the kampong of the Spotted Panther. It wasn’t a treasure hunt that we had set out upon. We were searching for something that was beyond price.”

The Adventurers edited by Tom Roberts [published by Black Dog Books, 2008, trade paperback, new copy] – adventure. In the years between the Great Depression and World War II, the all-fiction pulp magazines were flourishing on newsstands across the United States. Within the pulps were born many of the icons of popular culture that shaped America’s entertainment for generations to come–Tarzan, Zorro, Fu Manchu, The Shadow, and others. One of the most prominent and popular pulp heroes was Doc Savage, the Man of Bronze, a physical superman and scientific genius. With his crew of assistants, utilizing an array of gadgets of his own invention, he traveled the world and battled a dazzling assortment of villains through 181 issues of the magazine. This collection assembles four pulp heroes who attempted to rival Doc Savage: Secret Agent X, Captain Hazzard, Super Jim Anthony, and “Adventurers, Inc.,” headed by Rush Randall.

Thirty Pieces of Silver by G.G. Pendarves [published by Black Dog Books, 2009, trade paper, new copy] – 7 short stories, adventure with a weird twist. British writer Glaydis G. Trenery, under her pseudonym of G.G. Pendarves, wrote these seven stories for the pulp magazine Oriental Stories. This is the first time they are collected in book form. Described in the introduction by Robert Weinberg as “hardboiled desert noir.”

Twice Murdered by Laurence Donovan [published by Black Dog Books, 2010, trade paperback, new copy] – mystery. Between assignments ghostwriting Doc Savage, The Whisperer, The Skipper, The Black Bat and The Phantom Detective, Laurence Donovan wrote hundreds of shorter works in the detective, adventure, mystery and western fields. This first collection of his fiction assembles twelve thought-provoking mysteries. Introduction by Tom Roberts. Also included is a bibliography of Donovan’s writings.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Adventure, mystery, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mailbox Monday: week of May 30-June 5, 2010

  1. These look good. My intention is to start with the Lester Dent titles and work from there.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Great looking books, but you’re losing control again. It’s almost intervention time!
    ;)

  3. Jeff, Rick is just stimulating the economy! The man is a Patriot!

  4. Carl V. says:

    Awesome additions! You’re going to have to add on to the house so that you can put some more shelves in.

  5. Richard says:

    Oh my, I’m getting the idea I may be enjoying myself too much as far as buying books is concerned. HOWEVER, we watched another episode of that Hoarding show on TLC last night, and now I’m doing self-therapy about this “problem”.

    The program is to try to read a few before I buy any more…

  6. Bill Crider says:

    I liked THE SPOTTED PANTHER a lot. Hope you enjoy it, too.

  7. Richard says:

    I’m bound to. Just have to fit it into the reading schedule.

  8. Carl V. says:

    I set a similar ‘read what I buy’ goal this year and I’ve been doing pretty well on it, especially compared to past years where I did not read, within the same year, even a tiny percentage of the books I accumulated. Out of 28 new books I’ve purchased this year (an all time low for me at this point), I’ve read 15, and am at various places in the reading process with an additional 5.

  9. Richard says:

    Which probably means you’re NOT reading the other books you bought last year, and the year before… You can’t win on this, I’m convinced of it. Yet I AM going to have to slow down a little. (Really, Jeff)

  10. Carl V. says:

    You are right about that, of those read this year thus far only two were from the pile of books that I bought last year. :)

    On a side note, 23 of my 48 reads have been books I’ve borrowed from the library or from friends.

  11. bermudaonion says:

    How interesting! I’m going to check out Black Dog Books now.

  12. Patti Abbott says:

    Better that you read some of the ones you buy. I buy books and then read the ones from the library. I am cutting myself off from my library reserving till I catch up a bit.

  13. I admire your support of BLACK DOG BOOKS. If we don’t support these small presses, they’ll go away. And we don’t want that to happen!

  14. Richard says:

    ABSOLUTELY RIGHT, George! Tom Roberts is running a class operation with marginal resources, I’m happy to support Black Dog because it publishes great stuff. Same with Planet, Small Beer, Subterranean and others.

  15. Evan Lewis says:

    I’m reading the Laurence Donovan collection and really enjoying it. The stories are mostly of the Spicy Detective type, but far above the average from that mag.

  16. Richard says:

    I gather he wrote a LOT of stories, so it would make sense that the quality would vary.

  17. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I have the same problem as Patti – I buy books but then read new ones from the library. I figure you only have three weeks so I have to read those first. I catch up on my own books when we go away, especially on the long trip to Florida.

    I wish you wouldn’t keep mentioning these small press books; they all look too enticing to resist!

  18. Richard says:

    I have that same compulsion with library books, they HAVE to be read asap. It’s one of the reasons I don’t get more things there, that and the crummy selection. More than 3/4 of the time I see if a book is available at the library, it’s not. As for the small presses, they are publishing some pretty interesting things, often lately more in line with my current interests. Since I seem somehow to have slipped into a “pulp period”, Black Dog, Adventure House, Girasol and a few others, but especially Black Dog, are perfect for that.

Leave a Reply

