Sherlock Holmes Original Soundtrack

Original Soundtrack: Sherlock Holmes

Music from the Granada Television Productions of Sign of the Four, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Return of Sherlock Holmes. Composed and conducted by Patrick Gowers, with the St. Paul’s Cathedral Choir, The Gabriele String Quartet and The Wren Orchestra of London. 19 cuts, 55.8 minutes. Varese Sarabande VSD-5221Holmes soundtrack CD cvr sml

I’ve said before, I enjoy listening to soundtracks. It’s not unusual for me to buy a motion picture soundtrack for a film I don’t intend to see, if I like the composer of the original score. For me, a “motion picture soundtrack” means an original score. I’m not talking about soundtracks made up of a dozen popular songs of whatever vintage or music genre, I’m talking about composed scores by the likes of, for instance, James Horner, John Williams, Erich Korngold, Max Steiner, Hans Zimmer, Jerry Goldsmith, Richard Robbins and Howard Shore. That’s just some of the short list.

I read mystery fiction, and fantasy and science fiction. There are quite a lot of films of these genres that have been made, and I have the soundtracks for many of them. Television also uses original soundtracks, and though the CDs of them are less common they can be found. I’ve been enjoying this one recently.

If you liked the Sherlock Holmes series made by Granada and shown on PBS, you may like this CD.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sherlock Holmes Original Soundtrack

  1. Once again, you’ve made a post that led me to buy your recommendation. Keep it up, Rick! I’ve seen all those Granada SHERLOCK HOLMES episodes. The music certainly fit with mood of the series.

  2. Richard says:

    It’s got a couple pieces on it that may surprise you, but it’s all good. Listening to the music makes me want to take out the DVD sets I have.

  3. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read.
    Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

